For the Love of Layers.

Fall is undoubtedly my favorite season for fashion and for one simple reason…

Layering.

Maybe it’s because I’m naturally cold-blooded and value the warmth. Maybe it’s because layering allows me to get more wear out of my clothes. Either way, it’s so fun!

I get a lot of comments and questions about my fall wardrobe, so I thought I’d share a little bit. Here are my top tips for layering:

1.) Don’t be afraid of color. Despite what you think, bold colors can go together. Just make sure you use prints and accessories sparingly.

2.) It’s about proportions. Know your body and know what shapes and lengths flatter you. If you’re going to wear long layers on the top (tunic, long sweater, dress) then skinnies on the bottom are probably your best bet. If you’re going shorter or slimmer on the top, maybe try a flared skirt and wider jeans.

3.) Put a belt on it. Cinch in that cute waist of yours. When you wear several layers, it’s easy to start feeling like the Stay-Puffed Marshmallow Man. A belt can not only be a great accessory, but it can pull the outfit together and make it look tailored and finished.

4.) Own it. Somewhere along the line I stopped really caring if other people liked my clothes. I think it was towards the end of high school; when I used to wear my royal blue, sequined show choir dress to school for performances, layered over plaid flannel pants and a zip-up hoodie (I’m just going to let you sit with that hot mental image for a few.) If you feel good in what you’re wearing, and it’s flattering to you, then you look good. Don’t get hung up on trends. Trends change every season. Ain’t nobody got time for that. Find your own style and own it. Be classy.

In case you need some inspiration, here are some of my faves from Pinterest!

There you go, pretties. Go forth and layer up!

One thought on “For the Love of Layers.

  1. Pingback: Layering | The Skinny Guy Guide

Leave a Reply

