She Gets It From Her Momma.

In honor of Mother’s Day this weekend (this is me reminding you that it is THIS weekend) I thought I’d share a few of my favorite words of wisdom from my mom which have helped me survive into adulthood. The past 28 years have been fraught with countless lessons from her, but these just happen to be the ones I find myself repeating to myself the most. My most important Mom Massey-isms if you will!

A watched pot never boils. Figuratively speaking, this is obviously a lie (unless you forget to turn the burner on, because let’s all admit we’ve done that…) I distinctly remember her saying this to me one time when I was little and impatiently staring out the kitchen window, waiting for one of my friends to be dropped off to play. Stop being so anxious; if you occupy yourself, you won’t even realize time is passing and whatever it is you’re waiting for will be here before you know it. But good Lord, time moves SO SLOW when you are just sitting there watching it tick by. Though this is a mantra I repeat to myself often, I can’t say it’s actually helped my patience…mom still wins that award by a landslide.

When you’re crying, wipe your eyes with the tissue before you blow your nose. This one doesn’t need any philosophical explanation. It’s simple. Just use common sense. Nobody wants to smear snot all over their face. Wipe your eyes first. But also, don’t be afraid to cry, like ugly, girl cry. Let it out. And mom’s lap is still the best place to curl up while doing so.

Always have pasta in your kitchen. I think her original idea behind this was a survival method…pasta is nonperishable, can be eaten plain if necessary and could be boiled in a fireplace or kerosene heater if we lost power. Side note: we had both a fireplace and kerosene heater when I was growing up. Now I have neither, so this isn’t really a survival option unless I want to gnaw on raw pasta…so there’s that…But I can’t express to you how many times this has saved me from starvation. Sometimes I get home really late. Sometimes I’m just too lazy to want to cook. And when that sets in, pasta and spaghetti sauce are my go-to. It fills me up and I can make enough to have leftovers (because you know there’s a good chance we’re going to have deja vu tomorrow.) And I can throw in whatever leftovers I might have in my fridge (mushrooms, hamburger, chicken, veggies, etc.) Instant meal!

That mom…she sure does know her stuff 🙂

What about you? What are you favorite momma moments?

Leave a Reply

