365 Days of Blue Cottage.

Nothing jolts you into adulthood faster than signing your name on a loan worth more than all of your other possessions…combined.  Yet, here I am, one year in to ownership of this little gem:

The teeny-tiny little Blue Cottage, perfectly sized for myself and the two fur balls. It’s been incredible to actually call somewhere “home.” To have a space that I can host friends. To have some sense of permanence and establishment (two things I’ve been craving since college.)

One of my favorite benefits is being able to work on projects around the house anytime I want. You’d be surprised how much trouble a little lady armed with a power drill can get into. This year I tackled some pretty big interior projects, including:

Painting the main room and drapes that my momma made.

IMG_0768

THE KITCHEN. Holy cow. In one week. Never again.

And my bedroom. This was a much easier job. Just a little paint and more drapes from mom!

And of course I have more ideas I want to do, including finally finishing (or starting…) the office/spare bedroom and updating the bathroom. New year, new projects!

Like any new phase of life, there are a million lessons to learn. I thought I’d take a little look back at some of the big ones from the past 365 days…

There is always something to work on. Everybody told me this. And though I didn’t doubt it, I didn’t actually grasp the concept. But there really is always something else to work on. Always. My list never ends. Money, however, does.

The beauty is in the imperfections. My house is roughly 60 years old and it still has all the original woodwork and TONS of closets with original wood doors. While they’re showing their age; scratches, dents and discoloration, I can’t bring myself to paint them or replace them. There’s part of me that feels like I would be betraying the house and its history by changing something so unique to its character.

Patience. I have none. Moving on…

It is actually possible to have zero trees in your yard and yet have more leaves to rake than your neighbors. The science behind this still boggles my mind.

There is no greater feeling than welcoming friends into your home. Making dinner. Having coffee. Sitting outside on late, summer evenings. When I bought I house, I wanted a space that I could share with other people. And that’s just what I got.

Here’s to the next year…happy housing, friends!

Leave a Reply

