A Pulse Check on Being Alive.

About two months ago I chose my word for 2013…

And now that we’re at the almost-two-month mark, I thought it was about time for a heart check. The lovely Melanie hosts a monthly link up for the One Word 365 community, so be sure to check it out!

So, Alive. The dictionary defines it like this…

I think 2b is my favorite: “Still active in competition with a chance for victory.” Now there is some life motivation…VICTORY! There’s some Friday motivation, people!

Also, key words like “alertness” and “energy.” These are things that are sometimes hard to keep up in the winter months!

January was a pretty active month. There was lots of birthday celebrating with friends, new activities, ate at some great new restaurants, got back into yoga. 2013 got off to a great start! As we moved into February though, my focus shifted away from myself as life got busy. Free time became recovery time from the hectic week and the alive meter started to dip quite a bit.

But as we head towards March, I’ve got some big changes on the horizon (more on that to come.) And though they scare the crap out of me right now, I’m excited for some new challenges and I know that change is necessary.

I’m also looking forward to a few other goals as I progress through my year of being Alive.

  • Getting involved as a volunteer for a local organization or cause
  • Finally setting up an office in my spare bedroom and getting that space organized
  • Church shopping (I hate that term…almost as much as I hate feet and the word “birthing” but, hey, it fits what I’m doing)

So that’s my pulse check. How’s your year going? Be sure to link it up!

MonthlyOneWord150

2 thoughts on “A Pulse Check on Being Alive.

  1. I love your word “alive”. And oh, how that does mean change! The living keep moving.

    Saying a prayer right now for your church shopping…we went through that a year ago (and I hate the term too, but it does communicate). And it ended up being SUCH a blessing, both in the looking around at many places and finally deciding on a great place. Looking back, we wish we’d done it much sooner.

    And because of that, we’re getting more entrenched in volunteering with a new ministry that we love, love, love.

    I’m sure the Lord will continue leading you to meet your goals as you live for him. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

