The Peppermint Mocha Chronicles: My New Favorite Thing.

And before you get excited…no this is not like Oprah’s Favorite Things. Though I wish I could give you each a copy!

My new favorite thing is a book by photographer Jordan Matter called Dancers Among Us. It is literally 229 pages of joy in everyday life (goes with the PM theme, right?!)

In the artist’s introduction, Matter states:

” What happens to this enthusiasm, this ability to be wholly present in the moment? Why are these pure moments of passion so often replaced with cynicism, boredom, and indifference? As I played with my son, I thought about creating photographs that would show the world as if through his eyes. The people in the images would be alive and in the moment, celebrating all aspects and emotions of everyday life.”

What does happen? How do we get so caught up in doing, that we forget to look around and just be? As I read through the book, (yes I sat down and read/looked at each and every single page in one sitting), I found myself finding a peace that I had been missing the past week or two. The pictures did make me want to celebrate the everyday little moments. We’re alive, we have emotions and we’re meant to embrace all of it!

And the photographs really do just bring you pure joy. Of course, I have a passion for all things dance, but beyond that, they show you real life and how it could look if we’d let our imaginations play out.

Life really can be a playground, it doesn’t have to be so serious all the time, you just have to know where to look. While we’re taking this holiday season to be present, I wonder if you’ll notice any of these magical moments. Let’s try?

Photo by Jordan Matter. http://www.dancersamongus.com

Photo by Jordan Matter. http://www.dancersamongus.com

Photo by Jordan Matter. http://www.dancersamongus.com

Leave a Reply

