Today, revisited.

Approximately a year ago I wrote the following post about one of my students, who lost her mom after a valiant fight with cancer. A year later, my feelings couldn’t be more true. I continue to be proud and impressed by the young adults I spend my days with. They challenge me everyday to live in the moment and be better than yesterday.

So, I thought it worthy of a re-post. To remind us to keep loving, wherever you may be in life, because you never know where it will take you.

Today my heart broke. Today I cried through a memorial service for a woman I never knew; a mom of one of my students, who lost a battle with cancer last week. Today I stood in front of some one I met three years ago, as a 17-year-old high school student; one of several hundred I would come to know that year, never thinking that I would be standing with her during one of the hardest points in her life. I also watched her peers, students who not too long ago were strangers, stand up and support her. I have never been more proud to know these students. I was so inspired by the message encompassed in the service. Today I’m reminded of the journey life has taken me on the past few years and the purpose it serves.

Today my frustration over “I feel like my job is my life” paused for a few moments. Because yes, my job is my life. It’s not just how I pass the time in my day. It’s not just a mindless motion I go through. My job is the people and relationships that have become intertwined in who I am. It’s the idea that we can never really know the impact we’ll have on another human being or the roll we’ll play in their life.  My job is to love. 

And so is yours.

I was reminded of the phrase “You may be the only Jesus some people will ever know.” How true. Each of us exists in a specific place for a reason. Use that time well. Encourage. Support. Savor all that people are. Show some one what it means to be loved well. Take advantage of the opportunity to leave a mark on another person, no matter how small. Because it’s not about our plan, it’s about His plan. And we each have a part to play in it.

While discussing the news of the above situation with a friend last week, we had the following exchange…

Me: “…I get way too emotionally attached.”
Lindsey: “No such thing as being too attached.”

Thank you, friend. You’re right. We can never care too much. But it sure would be interesting if we all tried. Maybe we should give it a shot?

You can read the original post here.

Leave a Reply

