Office Lunch Date 2.0

I feel pretty confident to say that I have probably some of the best coworkers a girl could ever ask for. We work unbelievably hard; which means we also like to play hard. Fortunately, summer is a time when our schedule lightens a little bit. There are fewer events and late nights required. So, we try to tie in as much fun as possible during these months.

Enter, office lunch dates. A few weeks ago we went to the North Market, one of the most iconic places in Columbus (in my opinion) and one of my favorites. Today, we tried out a new feature, Food Truck Food Court at the Columbus Commons.

Food Trucks!

The Columbus Commons is an amazing new green space built in downtown Columbus. The city is doing an amazing job of utilizing it throughout the summer, through concerts, family events and free group fitness classes, among other options. My favorite quality of Columbus is that there is SO much to do. Summer is one of the greatest seasons to take advantage of all the entertainment and culture the city has to offer.

Food Truck Food Court takes place every Thursday, so make sure you check it out!

Ok, now I know you’re wondering what we ate! Alecia and I went for Tatoheads. She got the Mediterranean sweet potato fries, looked yum-o. I opted for the chili cheese fries, with vegan chili. So good!

My chili cheese fries.

David got an awesome salad from Pitabilities.

JT, winning our prize for most trucks visited, had The Royale from The Cheesy Truck (which he ate before I got a photo of it) and a second sandwich from the Market District truck.

Sandwich #2.

Lunch date success! The weather was beautiful and the food was delicious. Here we are with our bellies full before we left to head back to the office.

JT, myself, David and Alecia. A happy, full team!

A few tips I have from our experience:

Plan for the time. The trucks are available from 11-2. Expect some lines and some wait time for the food to be prepared (it’s so good and fresh!) We went right at noon but I would consider going right at 11 or after 1 to avoid the crowds a little more.

Make it a team effort. There are a lot of good options! If you go with a group, try to order from different trucks so you get the opportunity to sample a lot of the different choices.

Seating. The Commons offers a lot of tables/chairs and even some that have umbrellas. But, again, it’s somewhat crowded. Stake out a table early to make sure you can fit your group. Or, I would even consider taking a blanket and sitting in the grass…there’s a ton of space!

I hope to go back again, I’m loving all the food trucks we have around the city. I highly recommend trying it for yourself some Thursday.

We are currently taking suggestions for Office Lunch Date 3.0…any suggestions?

One thought on “Office Lunch Date 2.0

Leave a Reply

