My Secret Addiction.

I admit it. I’m attached to my phone. Yes, I’m that person.

From the minute I got my first smartphone (ah, the pink crackberry…I LOVED that thing) I was addicted. But, my life was changed this past fall when I got my new partner in crime…

The 4S. Aside from Her Snarkiness, Siri (whom I love to argue with, but she’s sometimes more frustrating than helpful), this little guy has streamlined my life immensely.

Admittedly, I am not the most techy lady you’ll ever meet (and I spend time with some pretty techy people.) But I do have a few apps that have become essential to my life:

Evernote: Do you use this?! If not, try it out.  If you’re an organizing nerd like me, you’ll thank me later. It allows you to create notes with text, photo, voice and web clips. You can categorize them, tag them, create notebooks. AND, it has a desktop companion that SYNCS AUTOMATICALLY. Ah! Let me tell you, this has been amazing during my new house process. I have clip after clip of furniture options and fabric choices. I also use this for all my shopping lists; I can add to it anytime, from work or home, and always have it with me when I’m at the store. A-mazing.

YouVerson: A fabulous Bible app. It also has a web portal edition. You can access the Bible in just about any translation, download studies and it READS TO YOU OUT LOUD. Oh my gosh. I now fall asleep sometimes listening to readings. Or play it in the car on my way to work. Love.

Amazon: Admit it. We all know you can find anything you need on Amazon.com and usually for a great price. And they make an app. No explanation needed. I actually bought curtain rods while sitting in my car in a parking lot. Yes, this is my life.

Flipboard: I really like pretty things. And Flipboard is pretty. I use Google Reader on my computer (also life changing!) but Flipboard is so much more than a reader. You can not only set it up to show your Facebook, Twitter and Google Reader feeds, but you can also subscribe to a number of news feeds and blogs provided through the service. It’s like an artsy, awesome mash up of news, trends, social media and yumminess. Yep, yumminess.

I am positive that I only use about 1/130 of my phone’s abilities. Do you have a favorite app or way that technology has made your life easier? I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

