“Eat Out of My Own Kitchen” Week in Review.

I did it!

I managed to eat the whole week out of what was already in my refrigerator/freezer/pantry. Here’s a little sample of what I indulged in:

Lasagna
Chili (made from my mom’s recipe; I make a GIANT batch every fall and keep it in my freezer for the winter. It’s my favorite!)
Tortellini soup adapted from the recipe found at eatliverun.com
This killer parmesan chicken recipe made using chicken fingers
Mashed potatoes (out of the freezer)
Salad (which included the parmesan chicken)

Snacks included almonds, cashews, cheese/crackers, carrots, cucumbers, protein bars

Now I will admit, I was lucky enough to have three lunches provided at work this week (the blessing of event season!) so that does make my meal planning a little easier sometimes. But I also attend classes in the evenings which throws my entire eating schedule out of whack. Seldom do I ever actually sit down and eat an entire meal; so most of the time I’m looking for food I can pack to take with me to work and graze all day long (ask any of my coworkers, I almost always have food sitting on my desk.)

Meal planning and creativity is something I’m constantly trying to work on; I just get bored with the same food all the time and I’m often on a tight schedule. If you haven’t already, check out my friend Sonya’s blog…she’s great at posting new recipes and her meal plans for the week.

Did you try “Eat Out of My Own Kitchen” week? I’d love to hear how it went!

5 thoughts on ““Eat Out of My Own Kitchen” Week in Review.

  1. Thanks for the shout out :). Love the idea of “eating out of your kitchen”. Will be trying it and letting you know how it goes! Now back to reading for class…

  2. That chicken looks AMAZING. I have some chicken and fresh parmesan in my fridge/freezer, but haven’t been able to find bread crumbs here ㅠㅠ

    • Nate it is pretty amazing and easy! I’ve been using chicken cut into strips so they’re like chicken tenders (they’re good leftover as well, just pop em back in the oven to warm up and stay crispy.) You could probably use crushed up crackers or crushed up corn flakes if you cant find bread crumbs, they would give the same effect. But I live panko bread crumbs!

  3. Pingback: Need vs. want plan…for January | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Leave a Reply

